kasparov chess

Kasparov Chess

Grant and you will unmask!
Crazy name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
luckyrook 22 ( +1 | -1 )
twice castling?!
Ever seen this!
didn't it is/was legal?!


www.xs4all.nl/~timkr/records/records.htm>#
greatest number of castlings
luckyrook 18 ( +1 | -1 )
good link! www.xs4all.nl/~timkr/records/records.htm#greatest number of castlings
jjw109 40 ( +1 | -1 )
not legal Definitely not legal but apparently was not noticed/challenged during the game. Crazy things can happen in the heat of a game especially in trying to meet the time control. I think it was ccmcacollister (apologize to you Craig if not) that said in another forum that he missed some mate opportunities against an OTB opponent and missed that the opponent had walked his K through a check to get to a stalemate position.
premium_steve 8 ( +1 | -1 )
hahaha! i guess since black is up a rook he can allow the illegal move.
premium_steve 32 ( +1 | -1 )
not really related, but also funny:

in an OTB standard time control game... my opponent missed a mate in one and we agreed to a draw.

a perpetual check looked to be the best option my opponent had.
neither of us had seen the mate, though it was a fairly obvious one, and i think it could have been made on either of two moves in a row.
ccmcacollister 86 ( +1 | -1 )
jjw109 Yep, that was me. Which in Midwestern USA Chess parlance is known as "being a fish " -sigh- :)
Interesting link luckyrook . I want to look at it some more when I get home from London; some of the other interesting records there. Of course castling twice is not legal since the king has moved previously; regardless of any other considerations. But I definately go with premiumsteve on this one! A rook up, why not let him 0-0 ... 0-0-0 and so get into the Record Book ! But to test his opponent perhaps BL should have tried to Un-0-0-0 and Re-0-0 ?! See if WT doesnt know the casling rules or just missed his prior 0-0 ? Then the record might stand longer and funnier. }8-)
PS: Which is the luckyrook in that game?! The extra one of BL, or the Wt Rook that was amazed he got to castle ?!
steveoz 19 ( +1 | -1 )
castling I once read of a player in a crowded tournament hall who castled using a rook from the next table along. Does anyone know the details of this game?
thecatcool120 14 ( +1 | -1 )
No, but wow. 3 times castled? That's illegal. Once the king moves, castling is out but usually in the corner it's safe but omg that's...surprisingly something.