free online chess

Free Online Chess

Participate and you will find!
Strange name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
ccmcacollister ♡ 273 ( +1 | -1 )
Endgame Quiz: SOLUTIONs/ +Questions aor Comments THIS IS FOR the Official Posters SOLUTIONs to the EndgameQuizDiagrams Thread. And also for others to help them out to SOLVE and provide a SOLUTION, if the Poster has said they did not give one.
IF anyone does want to help solve for them, simply enter your information as if you were then the official poster, when you put info in the SUBJECT LINE, etc. Anyone following can Question your SOLUTION if they feel there is a problem with it.
Additionally this is where everyone can offer their own analysis they wish to show, perhaps to expand the SOLUTION, or explain in more detail, or Question parts of it or Question about moves not touched on, or other commentary as desired. Very Informal,
the only object being to try keeping things no more confusing than I've already made them ?!? }8-/ Ah well ....
Complete Info about the formats, etc is shown in the other thread. I'll repeat part here that refers only to this thread. And you can refer back to there if need be.
Hello my GK friends. I want to try a different concept here, of having this thread give the diagram for an endgame position ... but putting the solution for it in a separate thread. IF No Solution is to be given by you, however, please indicate that with your diagram.
Hopefully, someone else will be able to fill in a solution for you on this thread.
Which brings up a matter of Format, to avoid confusion. Please see the numbering and indicator that I use in my post, for example.

BE SURE you are not asking about an active position from an ongoing game~!
In the SOLUTION THREAD, to post a SOLUTION, you should show:
(1) PUT the word SOLUTION in CAPS.
(2) THEN put identical info and number as you did in the first thread
IMPORTANT: ONLY THE SOLUTION POSTER should use the SUBJECT LINE this way. Others who wish to Question correctness of that solution, or add to it, or have other questions about it, or comments, or showing their own analysis, or any other discussion should just show the Number. Such as to refer to mine, just put "#1". Or leave blank here and refer to the number in your MESSAGE AREA.
All discussion is most welcome; we just need to be sure the official solution given can be easily discerned.

(1) Show the mainline solution (aka "best play").
(2) Add any notes or sidelines you wish to.
(3) Other than the Official SOLUTION POSTER, any format is okay since content may vary from lines of play to Questions or other comments (like "what a terrible ending!"
or "this is unusual" or whatever :)
If something is a little off the mark, don't worry about it. It doesn't need to be "BOOK" perfect.
# # # # #
ccmcacollister ♡ 16 ( +1 | -1 )
hyperlink to the DIAGRAM/Question of POSTER Thread

ccmcacollister ♡ 207 ( +1 | -1 )
SOLUTION: King+Pawn race #1

This was my solution, below, using 56.Qe1+, which was the most common method I usually look step in front of his pawn.

53. ... a3
54. e7 a2
55. e8=Q+ Kb4
56. Qe1+ Kb3
57. Qa1 b5
58. Kc5 b4
59. Kb5 Ka3
60. Kc4 b3
61. Kc3 Ka4
62. Qb2 Ka5
63. Kxb3 Ka6
64. Qxa2+
The first line I looked at, however, was to play 56.Qa8
(just since it came up while I was analysing that any BL move other than 55....Kb4 and the pawn is lost to Qa8, as it is beyond defense. And I was curious too if it could win. And it turns out to be more interesting and demonstrative. So to show it too.) getting behind the pawn. Can you demonstrate a win for WT after 56,Qa8 ~? Does the pawn on b6 matter, or can you lift it from the board before playing, and win then?

[There is a possibility for a draw here if the WT King is far enough away that it cannot reach the scene to aid in a checkmate if BL attained a position where his pawn is on a2 and Ka1. Why?
Because note that if the WT Queen is on the b-file in that position and BL has No Moves Possible ... he is Stalemated and gets a Draw~! What can WT do then to avoid it? Now if WT had many pawns he could just permit Queening, trade off those Queens, then make another. But he has no more pawns to Queen.
He cannot get in front of the pawn. How will he handle this alternate position? Perhaps the BL b-pawn will help him out!? ! Poor BL has so little material, could it be possible that one of his precious pawns remaining would betray his king?! ]
So to consider:
53. ... a3
54. e7 a2
55. e8=Q+ Kb4
56. Qa8 Kb3
57. Kd4! Kb2
58. Qg2+
{Note, if no b-pawn the WT Queen might approach simply by alternating her checks upon the a & b-files while stepping one closer each time}
Now where shall the K go here?
58. ...Ka1?? 59.Qc2 b5 60.Qc1#
{See that Ka1 would be Stalemate after 59.Qc2 if there was no b-pawn. If such were the case, note that a Queen on the b-file anywhere now would also Stalemate. But the "b" can move. Betrayed indeed, for our humble foot-soldier has toppled his own monarch.}
58. ... Kb1 or Kc1 59.Kd3! a1/Q 60.Qc2# MATE
{Showing yet another way to win this}
58. ...Kb3 or Ka3 {Strange seeming that retreat lives longest...slightly}
59.Qf3+! Kb2 {Qf3 is fast, of the wins. If not Kb2, Qc3+ is still the move coming}
60.Qc3+ Kb1
{now a pesky chance for BL to last a tiny bit longer if we played 61.Ke3 a1/N!} So ...
61.Qb3+ Ka1
62.Kc3 b5
63.Qb2# MATE again

I hope my first SOLUTION was correct now!~ The other is certainly more fun to play.
ionadowman ♡ 101 ( +1 | -1 )
Interesting endgame, Craig... ... One of my rules of thumb Q vs P endings involving Rook- or bishop-pawns is to get the queen in front of the pawn ASAP. So I would almost without thinking play 56.Qe1 (which wins as indicated) instead of 56.Qa8.

Even having tried 56.Qa8!? Kb3 57.Qh8! also brings the queen in front of the a-pawn and wins. For example: 57...b5 58.Qa1 b4 59.Kd4 Ka3 60.Kc4 b3 61.Qc1ch Ka4 (61...b2 62.Qc3ch Ka4 63.Qb4#) 62.Qc3 and mate next.

But why not 56.Qh8 at once? From the diagram, the whole line becomes: 54.e7 a2 55.e8=Qch Kb4 56.Qh8 and if 56...Kb3 57.Kc6! Kc2 58.Qa1 end of story. If instead 56...b5 57.Kc6! and White wins the pawns ([a] 57...Ka3 58.Kxb5; [b] 57...Ka4 58.Qb2! b5(?? Black is in zugzwang anyhow) Qxa2#; [c] 57...Ka5 58.Kc5; [d] 57...Kc3 58.Kxb5; [e] 57...Kc4 58.Qg8ch Kb4 59.Qxa2 etc). The beauty of covering the queening square from the diagonal is that enemy king has to reach the 8th rank (viz: b1) to ensure the pawn's promotion, Black hasn't anywhere near enough time for this.

So we have 3 distinct solutions to this endgame. Craig's solution does bring into existence another "problem" that maybe ought to be posted on the other thread - namely, that of K+Q vs K+RP. This isn't a draw if the attacking K is close enough...
ionadowman ♡ 112 ( +1 | -1 )
Position#2... Given this situation,
Position #2 (White to play)

A careful reading of Craig's solution to Position #1 will reveal a possible solution beginning with 1.Qg2ch.
For instance 1.Qg2ch Kb1 (1...Ka1 2.Kc3! and mate next) 2.Kd3! Ka1 3.Qc6! Kb2 4.Qc3ch Kb1 5.Qc2ch Ka1 6.Qc1#.

Suppose Black's king retreats?
1.Qg2ch Kb3 2.Kd3!? a1=Q 3.Qb7ch Ka3! 4.Qa6ch Kb2 5.Qb5ch Ka3 6.Qa5ch Kb2 7.Qb4ch Ka2 8.Kc2! Zugzwang! Black has no meaningful checks to rid himself of the mate threat. E.g. 8...Qc3ch! 9.Kxc3! (9.Qxc3 is Stalemate!)

Or Black might try the other wriggle:
1.Qg2ch Kb3 2.Kd3 a1=Q 3.Qb7ch Ka3 4.Qa6ch Kb2 5.Qb5ch Kc1 6.Qc4ch Kb2 7.Qb4ch transposes into the previous line.

What if Black plays 1.Qg2ch Ka3? Then comes 2.Kc4! a1=Q 3.Qf3ch! Kb2! 4.Qe2ch Kc1! 5.Qe1ch Kb2 6.Qd2ch Kb1 (6...Ka3 7.Qb4ch Ka2 8.Qb3#) 7.Kb3 - the identical idea as the previous lines, but reflected about the axis of the long diagonal.

These lines are given to show that in certain circumstances White can afford to allow the pawn to promote. Simplest, however, is:
1.Qg2ch Kb3 2.Qf3ch Kc2 (2...Kb2 is the same) 3.Qc3ch Kb1 4.Kd3 and Black can save the immediate mate only by promoting to a knight: 4...a1=N 5.Qb4ch Kc1 (5...Ka2 6.Kc3 etc) 6.Qa3ch Kb1 7.Kc3 ... 8.Qb2#

ionadowman ♡ 64 ( +1 | -1 )
Position #3 In the other thread I gave this position with White to play:
How is White to proceed?
There is just one way to win here:
1.Qa8ch Kb1 2.Kc3 Kc1 3.Qh1#
Had the Q stood at f4, then Qa8ch is impossible. There would be, then, no way to prevent Black's pawn promotion, and the consequent draw (there is no way that White can slip in a mate whilst Black promotes, neither). To win, the White queen must have immediate access to the a-file. This access is unobtainable from f4, g4 and h4, and from f2 and h2. (Naturally, the 1st rank doesn't come into consideration since it's White to play)

ionadowman ♡ 84 ( +1 | -1 )
Position #4 Solution to Ljubojevic-Browne:


Black played 1...f5? and after White's response (2.Kb4!) agreed to the draw.
Instead Black could have won by 1...Kd5!
Now, although White queens first, Black will win it by a skewer, or deliver mate:
If 2.b4 f5 3.b5 f4 4.b6 Kc6!
It seems likely this was the move overlooked...
5.Ka6 f3 6.b7 f2 7.b8=Q f8=Qch
8.Ka5 Qa1ch 9.Kb4 Qb1ch 10...Qxb8

Pursuing the pawn won't do either:
2.Kb4 Kd4 3.Ka5 f5 4.b4 f4 5.b5 Kc5!
will eventually transpose into the earlier line.

These threads don't seem to be getting much action, yet I reckon the ideas behind these endings are well worth builbing into one's technique. Bear in mind that this ending was from an actual game, in which a strong grandmaster failed to find the winning line. t goes to show that simple doesn't mean trivial!