♡ 40 ( +1 | -1 ) not legalDefinitely not legal but apparently was not noticed/challenged during the game. Crazy things can happen in the heat of a game especially in trying to meet the time control. I think it was ccmcacollister (apologize to you Craig if not) that said in another forum that he missed some mate opportunities against an OTB opponent and missed that the opponent had walked his K through a check to get to a stalemate position.
♡ 32 ( +1 | -1 ) not really related, but also funny:
in an OTB standard time control game... my opponent missed a mate in one and we agreed to a draw.
a perpetual check looked to be the best option my opponent had. neither of us had seen the mate, though it was a fairly obvious one, and i think it could have been made on either of two moves in a row.
♡ 86 ( +1 | -1 ) jjw109Yep, that was me. Which in Midwestern USA Chess parlance is known as "being a fish " -sigh- :) Interesting link luckyrook . I want to look at it some more when I get home from London; some of the other interesting records there. Of course castling twice is not legal since the king has moved previously; regardless of any other considerations. But I definately go with premiumsteve on this one! A rook up, why not let him 0-0 ... 0-0-0 and so get into the Record Book ! But to test his opponent perhaps BL should have tried to Un-0-0-0 and Re-0-0 ?! See if WT doesnt know the casling rules or just missed his prior 0-0 ? Then the record might stand longer and funnier. }8-) PS: Which is the luckyrook in that game?! The extra one of BL, or the Wt Rook that was amazed he got to castle ?!